Basic Taxonomy-6 Kingdoms of Life-Classification

The Six Kingdoms of Life

The six kingdoms of life are:

  • Archaea
  • Bacteria
  • Protists
  • Fungi
  • Plants
  • Animals


Each kingdom is defined by its unique characteristics, such as the type of cell structure, the way it obtains energy, and its mode of reproduction.


Archaea are the most ancient form of life on Earth. They are single-celled organisms that live in extreme environments, such as hot springs, deep sea vents, and acidic soils. Archaea are not closely related to bacteria or eukaryotes, and they have their own unique set of genes.



Bacteria are single-celled organisms that are found in almost every environment on Earth. They are responsible for both good and bad things, such as decomposition, food production, and disease. Bacteria are closely related to archaea, but they have a different set of genes.



Protists are a diverse group of single-celled organisms that are not bacteria or archaea. They include amoebas, algae, and slime molds. Protists are important members of the food chain, and they play a role in nutrient cycling.

shapes bacteria


Fungi are multicellular organisms that include mushrooms, molds, and yeasts. They are heterotrophs, which means that they obtain their energy from other organisms. Fungi are major decomposers.

Fungi play a number of important roles in the ecosystem as decomposers. These roles include:

  • Nutrient cycling: Fungi help to recycle nutrients back into the soil, where they can be used by plants and other organisms.
  • Soil formation: Fungi help to form soil by breaking down organic matter and creating humus. Humus is a dark, organic material that is essential for soil health.



Plants are multicellular organisms that are photosynthetic, which means that they can produce their own food. Plants are essential for life on Earth, as they provide food and oxygen for animals and humans.



Animals are multicellular organisms that are heterotrophs. Animals obtain their energy by eating other organisms. Animals are a diverse group that includes insects, fish, birds, mammals, and reptiles.

The six kingdoms of life are a major part of the Earth’s ecosystem. They play a vital role in the cycling of nutrients, the production of food, and the decomposition of organic matter.

This video covers the 6 kingdoms, quickly, in order to give an overview of the variety of Life on Earth.